Christians Who Do Good Things

   

I have never said, nor would I ever say, that there is nothing good that can come from religion or faith.  There are many, such as an Evangelical Pastor friend of mine, who simply “do the right thing” as “Followers of Jesus.”  These are the ones, like one of my nieces, who aren’t that interested in being called “Christian” or going to church, but they are good people who care about others and believe in Love above all.  Hard to criticize that. . .and who would?

This story on CNN exemplifies this view of the value that faith can have in a community.  A young student at a Christian College (I went to one) in Joplin, Missouri heard about the burning of the mosque and decided to organize a “rally of people coming together, from all walks of life, all religions, a really diverse group of people trying to promote this radical love.”  Now there’s something.  Organizing a diverse group to promote love (are you listening all you Churches and Mosques and Temples and “My Faith is the Only Faith” Righteous. . .and maybe the People Who Burned the Site?).  The youth are leading the way and, as we said in those long ago days of evangelism:  “You’ve Been Left Behind.”  A young person I know just told me, “I believe God is up there but I just say, ‘I’m gonna live my life with love and grace, and I’ll talk to You later!’ ”

Now here’s something for all of us Non-Believers to meditate upon.  This young woman says, “Regardless of what you believe, I think everybody’s entitled to loving whoever.”  Yes, radical love.  And, we’ll see what happens.  We’ll see if this rally and the message promoting this radical love becomes All About Jesus, or something much better. . .something genuinely good.  Better yet, I hope we don’t just “see” what happens.  I hope people of faith can come together with people without faith and do this simply profound act of Goodness because it’s Right. . .with God or without.

One last note on this senseless attack:  I was reflecting on the shooting at the Sikh temple and the burning of this Mosque (and the ridiculous way the town is hampering the Mosque in Tennessee) and have to ask myself:  What would I do?  And I have to respond, fairly true to my character which is one of Radical Inclusion and Parental Protectiveness:  If this happened in my neighborhood I would join the rally and walk and work alongside people of whatever faith or no faith to Stand for Justice and the revolutionary act of Lovingkindness.  This is the Best of Theism, Atheism and Being Human Beings together.

Thank you Ashley Carter, for your very human and humane stand in Joplin, MO.  After the destructive tornado last year, there seems to be a new, creative wind a’blowin in that town.

UPDATE:  Looks like the Rally for Peace went very well.  A model for the Way Forward?

UPDATE2:  Churches and Synagogues in Joplin hold a dinner for the Muslim congregation (this is great. . .and I hope they do more than that)

2 thoughts on “Christians Who Do Good Things

  1. I applaud your commitment to inclusion. This concept that one religion or sect has ‘the truth’ defies logic, common sense, and compassion for others. My only exception to inclusion occurs when the truth holders want to convert me, or punish me. Then, I head for the nearest exit.

    Earlier in life, when I began to adopt a humanistic view of the life and the world, I felt a sense of elitism, but now I realize that humanistic views, just as religious views, are merely personal opinions and reflections of an individual’s view.

    When I reflect on the enormous gifts that religious persons in my life have given me, I focus on the person and not on their theological lineage.

  2. Thanks for your comment, JP. You make sense. Truth is truth isn’t it? Verifiable evidence independently confirmed. The sun is shining here today, or it is not. There is a heaven or there is not. Your God exists, or not. And of course, there are shades of gray at times. The sun is shining, but there are clouds, and it’s raining in the next county–that sort of thing. Where I caution is “humanistic views. . .are merely personal opinions.” Well, if those who make super-natural claims would admit the same, maybe there could be agreement on mere opinions, but the truth (if this word means anything anymore) demands something more, would you agree? My perspective, based on my experience, reflection and reasoning is that I see no evidence, no truth in the claim that there is anything other than Nature, the natural world and cosmos.
    And having said all this, I completely agree with your conclusive decision to focus on the person rather than a personal faith. Bravo and Amen.
    I hope that what happened in Joplin really was inclusive evidence of this common sense viewpoint. I need to check into the result. Peace

Leave a Reply

